Threadcount patterns 1502

20160214_153204

I’ve always wondered if the patterns that are given away with sewing magazines are any good or if their sole purpose is to suck you in to buying the mag. The pattern I tried came with issue 22 of Love Sewing magazine. It can be downloaded for free in sizes 6-14 here.

I did have a look on patternreview.com before I started but none of their patterns were on there.

I have been sewing a lot of indie patterns recently so I don’t know if I have just gotten used to the amount of hand-holding and detailed info that comes with indie patterns. This pattern had no sizing chart, just a chart of finished bust/hip/length measurements. It says it was designed for “moderate stretch” knits but doesn’t give a stretch %

So, onto the sewing. Not a bad pattern actually, everything matched up as it was supposed to and the instructions were pretty clear. I remembered to use a stretch needle and stabilise the shoulder seams with cotton tape. The only changes I made were to lengthen the bodice by about an inch and to increase the sleeve length to the elbow.

Cost 1.8m polycotton knit @ £1.50 per metre = £2.70

Time couple of hours altogether

All in all, not a bad Sunday afternoon sew.

Have you tried any freebie patterns? Any good?

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Threadcount patterns 1502

4 thoughts on “Threadcount patterns 1502

  1. Ah! At last someone has reviewed this brand of patterns. I got 2 with a sewing magazine recently and was wondering if anyone else made them up.
    Your top looks great btw.

    Like

  2. Becca says:

    I will defo be making mine based on this post! Did you make your true size vs the measurments or go down a size? I’m never quire sure with jersey patterns. Becca x

    Like

    1. I made the size based on my real measurements as a wearable toile. I was pleasantly surprised! I think because of all the ruching it’s quite forgiving but if you are very petite you might be better off going down a size.

      Let me know how you get on!

      Like

what do you think?

