Simple Sew #024, The Kate Jersey Top

This was a free pattern with issue 24 of Love Sewing Magazine. This pattern was inspired by Kate Middleton apparently. I made it because it is similar to a grey top I got from M&S which is on heavy rotation in my wardrobe. Anyway, the pattern is for a top or dress in size 8-20 and is for beginners. Like the Threadcount pattern, the pattern envelope doesn’t give a sizing table, just finished dress measurements and the measurements are in inches.

After my success with the other top I thought this one would be a breeze. The fabric I used is a lovely, soft lightweight cotton knit. Gorgeous to wear, not so gorgeous to sew! I cut and prepared the pieces without incident but as soon as I moved them the edges started rolling up and no amount of starching and pressing would stop them. As a result some of the seams aren’t as accurate as I would like.

The pattern itself was fine but it had notches for almost all of the seam lines which I’ve never seen before. It seemed a bit unnecessary since the seam allowance was 1.5cm throughout. The instructions were straightforward but there was no mention of understitching the facings which I found odd as it’s a beginner pattern but I did it anyway. The only changes I made were to increase the length by a few centimetres and lengthen the ties.

Time:  This took about 3 hours because of all the messing around with the curly fabric edges. I could probably have it done in 2 hours with an easier fabric.

Cost: £1.50/m from a shop in Southall. I used just under a metre.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Simple Sew #024, The Kate Jersey Top

2 thoughts on “Simple Sew #024, The Kate Jersey Top

what do you think?

