Ikea Magazine Rack Hack. Or how to organise your magazines

Every few years I will try to bring some organisation to my life. Unfortunately,  cleaning, tidying etc are my least favourite things to do. I can’t bear to chuck anything away. And quite frankly it’s just as well this time!

 

I found a load of these Ikea magazine racks in various stares of disrepair hidden away in cupboards all around the house. Some needed a little glue and TLC, all needed a good dust.

I wanted to paint them to start with but I’m planning an overhaul of my sewing space and I’m not sure what the new colour scheme will be so I thought I’d go simple.

Blackboards seem to be all the rage these days so I decided on a little blackboard panel on the front of each file. I used this cheap and cheerful paint from wilko.

First I wiped the wood down with a dry cloth. I only realised after I’d finished the first few that I should have given the front a light sanding to give a nice smooth surface….o well, I did that to the last lot. I used masking tape to mark out the area I wanted to paint.

20160502_154547
Regular masking tape and that fancy painter’s masking tape

I used a non-bristle brush to paint on a thin layer, left it to dry for an hour then painted on another thin layer.

20160502_203354
First layer on…you can see some streaky bits all right

This gave a good, even coverage. I let it dry overnight before removing the masking tape.

20160515_103038
Tape off….nearly done

Although it didn’t say on the instructions, I’d read somewhere else that you’re supposed to prime the surface before you start writing all over it. I used the long edge of a piece of chalk to cover the black surface then buffed it off with a clean, dry rag.

20160605_154323
Priming the blackboard surface

 

Job done!

20160606_155621
All done!

Now only another million things left to sort out!

 

Ikea Magazine Rack Hack. Or how to organise your magazines

what do you think?

